>"Jesus loves me"

>

Bella (my puppy pictured above) has a stuffed dog she plays with. When you squeeze the dog (not Bella, the toy:) it sings you a song:

“Jesus loves me. This I know. For the Bible tells me so. Little ones to Him belong. They are weak, but He is strong. Yes, Jesus loves me. Yes, Jesus loves me. Yes, Jesus loves me. The Bible tells me so.”

I grew up singing this song, like any other good church-going kid, but I think more than a cute song, that church kids sing, this song shows how many Christians relate to God. More on this, in a second…

I’ve been going through a marriage devotional book with Abbey. Look at this quote from the book:

Day 1:

“Have you seen Jesus? I mean really seen Him? Not some kind of 900-foot-tall object but, rather, the Jesus Christ who lives in the Bible?” (my emphasis added)

It’s a window into the way that many Christians relate to Jesus. Communion, that is based on the writings, the stories, but not on the God who is alive and speaking.

“the Jesus Christ, who lives in the Bible”

“the Bible tells me so”

what about “the Jesus Christ who is alive and seated on a throne in heaven”?

or “…He tells me so”

Our experience with God has to go deeper than the interactions that we have with the writings and the stories. Thank God for the Bible. It is so important, but oh God “take us past the outer courts.”

About kurtkjohnson

Husband to Abbey Johnson, proud father, irregular blogger and occasionally creative. View all posts by kurtkjohnson

One response to “>"Jesus loves me"

Leave a Reply

