>"Everything I am for Your kingdom cause"

>And calling the crowd to him with his disciples, he said to them, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake and the gospel’s will save it. Mark 8:34-35 ESV

The gospel accounts are laced with the radical call of Jesus to lose our lives for His sake and the sake of the gospel. More than just losing our former lives in being born again, Jesus is calling all believers to complete abandonment to Him and His kingdom cause. Even after becoming a Christ follower, some will try to “save their life.” They’ll try to keep some of their own agenda, personal pursuits and values. Self is the enemy of the cross. Jesus is so radical in calling us to His value system that He says in another account…

“Do not think that I have come to bring peace to the earth. I have not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I have come to set a man against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law. And a person’s enemies will be those of his own household. Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me, and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me. And whoever does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Whoever finds his life will lose it, and whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.”
Matthew 10:34-39 ESV

I think of those in persecuted nations that are disowned by their families for being a disciple of Jesus, and those who are under constant threat of violence toward themselves and their families, and how they stand in allegiance to Jesus and His cause. They are willing to lay their families on the line for the sake of the gospel! Though we don’t face that kind of resistance in the West, we experience the resistance of distraction, vain pursuits, and apathy towards God and His agenda. There is nothing else going on, but God and His agenda, peeps! There is no place for the “American Dream” in the heart of the believer. There is the “Kingdom Dream” -the dream that God has for the world, and that’s it! Every other agenda is a failure to heed the words of Jesus.

“Pledge my head to heaven” by Keith Green

Well, I pledge my head to heaven for the gospel,
And I ask no man on earth to fill my needs.
Like the sparrow up above, I am enveloped in His love,
And I trust Him like those little ones, He feeds.

Well I pledge my wife to heaven, for the gospel,
Though our love each passing day just seems to grow.
As I told her when we wed, I’d surely rather be found dead,
Than to love her more than the one who saved my soul.

I’m your child, and I want to be in your family forever.
I’m your child, and I’m going to follow you,
No matter whatever the cost, I’m gonna count all things lost.

Well I pledge my son to heaven for the gospel.
Though he’s kicked and beaten, ridiculed and scorn.
I will teach him to rejoice, and lift a thankful praising voice,
And to be like Him who bore the nails and crown of thorns.

I’m your child, and I want to be in your family forever.
I’m your child, and I’m going to follow you,
No matter whatever the cost, I’m gonna count all things lost.

Oh no matter whatever the cost, I’m gonna count all things lost.
Well I’ve had the chance to gain the world, and to live just like a king,
But without your love, it doesn’t mean a thing.

Oh no matter whatever the cost, I’m gonna count all things lost,
Oh no matter whatever the cost, I’m gonna count all things lost.
Well I pledge my son, I pledge my wife, I pledge my head to heaven,
I pledge my son, I pledge my wife, I pledge my head to heaven, for the gospel.

I think Keith got a revelation of the radical call to God and His kingdom cause.

Take inventory of your life. Are you really abandoning all for God and the gospel?

About kurtkjohnson

Husband to Abbey Johnson, proud father, irregular blogger and occasionally creative. View all posts by kurtkjohnson

One response to “>"Everything I am for Your kingdom cause"

Leave a Reply

