Why I am an Agnostic (by Kurt Johnson)

There is a tension between God and I.  Between the infinite and the finite.  Between the perfect and the unperfected.  What can I know of God?  What can I apprehend of the divine?  Who is this God, and what are these “facts” about God that can be conceived of?  In a world full of “answers,” I must confess that anything that I could conceive or say of God, I conceive and say as a mere approximation to God.

Even then, how might I ‘ground’ these approximations?  One says, “faith” and another says, “reason” and still another says, “faith and reason.”  And yet another says, “scripture, faith, reason, experience, tradition, etc…”  I find these “answers” disconcerting.  They speak of these things, but by approaching what they speak of, have I really “found God”?  Have I really begun to resolve the tension between God and I?  Have I moved on from approximations of God? Even by the Spirit living in me, telling me that I am His, have I resolved this tension?

No.  I must confess that I am an agnostic.  But, I am an agnostic because I can’t know, and I can’t show you what God is ‘really’ like.  When I speak of God, or I speak of Jesus, this is not who God IS, but yet it is something like who God is.  When I have a relationship with God, this is not who God IS, yet it is something like who God is.

There is a tension between God and I.  A tension that I’m OK with, and I think He’s OK with it too.

About kurtkjohnson

Husband to Abbey Johnson, proud father, irregular blogger and occasionally creative. View all posts by kurtkjohnson

2 responses to “Why I am an Agnostic (by Kurt Johnson)

Leave a Reply

