Why I am an Atheist (by Kurt Johnson)

If the choice I have before me is Theism vs. Atheism, then I choose Atheism.  If I must first decide that “God exists” and then decide, “what God is this?” then I have nothing but to believe in no God at all.

I wish that all the Theists, Deists, and “higher-power” believers would join me in my Atheism. I wish they would join me in my rejection of the generic-god.  For what is a belief like this?

But I want to be a certain kind of Atheist.  One that rejects the generic-god but embraces the particular, for it’s only the particular that is believable.  I believe in Jesus and this is what makes me an Atheist.  Yet, I am also an Agnostic, (see Why I am an Agnostic).

About kurtkjohnson

Husband to Abbey Johnson, proud father, irregular blogger and occasionally creative. View all posts by kurtkjohnson

One response to “Why I am an Atheist (by Kurt Johnson)

Leave a Reply

